Confederation, NORCECA

Newsletter

Inaugurated stage in Guatemala Beach Volleyball

www.norceca.org



GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala, April 8, 2010 - Sixteen men's pairs and twelve women's duos will take place in the Fourth Stop of the 2010 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit.

During the General Technical Meeting held Thursday evening the brackets were completed and the organizers informed on the general aspects of the event that kicks off at Campo Marte on Friday. The top seeded are Cubans Niriam Sinal and Kirenia Ballar in the women's and USA Team of Michael Bruning and Jason Wight in the men's.

The first match is scheduled at 8:30 with Sinal/Ballar (CUB) against Green/Daley of Jamaica and Bruning/Wight (USA) against Clercent/Williams of St. Lucia.

The opening ceremony took place at the Sports Palace of Guatemala in the presence or the sports authorities of Guatemala, NORCECA delegates, athletes and members of the organizing committee.

In attendance during the opening ceremony were the Mayor of Guatemala City, Mr. Alvaro Arzu Irigoyen, the president of AFECAVOL, Marta Centeno de Sajche, the president of the Nacional Volleyball Federation of Guatemala, Luis Enrique Santis, the president of Guatemala Sport Confederation, Gerardo Aguirre, the technical delegates of NORCECA, Beato Miguel Cruz and Daniel Reinoso, and the referee coordinator, Miguel Ramírez.

Both Santís and Aguirre expressed their gratitute to NORCECA for its confidence in Guatemala for a fourth consecutive year, while Cruz praised the level of organization and said he expects better quality of the competition compared with previous years.

The opening ceremony was presided over by Arzu Irigoyenquien who expressed: "I have one simple message for the athletes: invest your time in being the best and go after the victory." Then he declared the fourth stop of NORCECA Circuit officially open.

Men's Teams: Yewddys Pérez/Germán Recio (DOM), Karell Peña/Sergio González (CŬB), Shervin Rankin/Olney Thompson (CAY), Alexander Villegas/Zlatko Piskulich (CRC), Jessi Lelliott/Benjamin Dane (CAN), Mark Lewis/Dany Wilson (JAM), Fabien Luciano/Daneil Obrien (TTO), Manuel Serrano/Luis Baides (HON), Joseph Clercent/Dayne Williams (LCA), Erick Garrido/Julio Recinos (GUA-1), Rodrigo Gonzalez/Andy Blanco (GUA-2), Alberto Ozuna/Moises Gomez (GUA-3), Orlando Irizarry/Joseph Gil (PUR), Juan Marin/Andy Marin (BIZ), Jeovanny Medrano/David Vargas (ESA), Michael Bruning/Jason Wight (USA)

Women's Teams: Natalia Alfaro/Ingrid Morales (CRC), Nirian Sinal/Kirenia Ballar (CUB), Gina Selmo/Ğinette Selmo (DOM), Ivonne Soler/Laura Molina (ESA), Maria Orellana/Lourdes Ramirez (GUA-1), Blanca Recinos/Ingrid Lopez (GUA-2), Ana Villagran/Nadia Galan (GUA-3), Cheryl Daley/Shanique Green (JAM), Katherine Zakrzewski/Julie Rodriguez (CAN-1), Eve Dansereau/Rebecca Moskowitz (CAN-2), Nadiege Honore/Anaya Dyette (TTO), Dania Shiva Hamilton/Samantha Shana Mann (LCA)































