

Go beyond your limits!



Newsleffer

NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit back into action

MAYAGUEZ, Puerto Rico, August 15, 2012 – The exciting action of the 2012 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit resumes with the seventh stage of the year to take place at Paseo El Litoral of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico in the western part of the island from August 24 to 26.

Representatives from Aruba, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Curacao, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago and hosts Puerto Rico have been confirmed thus far in both genders.

Puerto Rico's men have won three tournaments while Cuba's men and women have claimed two gold medals apiece. México's women have two titles.

Nelson Perez Cruz, President of Puerto Rican National Federation said the preparation works ahead of the tournament are in full swing.

"We are ready to greet the delegations from the different countries that will visit us and once again our Federation receives the unconditional support from Mayaguez and its Mayor Jose Guillermo Rodriguez," he said. "We are glad to come back to this great city to organize an event as the NORCECA Beach."

"This is a tournament of high level and starts the new Olympic cycle," Perez Cruz commented. "The tournament grants points for the qualification to the 2014 Central and Caribbean Games and the 2015 Pan American Games.

The NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit means the return of beach volleyball to the western area since the success of the 2010 Central and Caribbean Games. It will be the fourth time that Puerto Rico hosts one stage of the circuit, with the first two in Carolina (2008 and 2009) and then in 2010 at Boqueron before the Games.

"The event will be beneficial for Mayaguez and the Western area. We will be greeting more than 120 athletes who will be staying in the area of Mayaguez," the Mayor Rodriguez commented. "This kind of activities drives the economy and benefits the tourism, the

restaurants, small business, transportation and others."

Women's teams: Kaila Ng/Alexandra Hudson (CAN-A), Jacqueline Tait/Victoria Cowley (CAN-B), Jennifer Bily/Cristin Alexander (CAY), Ingrid Morales/Natalia Alfaro (CRC), Deborah Constanzo/Karla Montilla (DOM), Diana Romero/Marcela Avalos (ESA), Jamie Farley/Laurie Bachler (ISV), Yarleen Santiago/Yamileska Yantín (PUR-A), Dariam Acevedo/Tatiana Encarnación (PUR-B), Nancy Phillip/Pauline Woodroffe (TRI).

Men's teams: Mitchel Daniel/Eargenell De Cuba (ARU), Grant O'Gorman/Samuel Pedlow (CAN-A), Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Cameron Wheelan (CAN-B), Shervin Rankin/Richard Campbell (CAY), Derwin Colina/Homi Cathalina (CUR), Yewddys Perez/German Recio (DOM), Julio Recinos/Luis Garcia (GUA), Roberto Rodriguez/Erick Haddock (PUR-A), Orlando Irizarry/Fernando Morales (PUR-B), Fabien Whitfield/Daniel Williams (TRI).

Results of the previous stops:

Place Cayman Islands Guatemala Boca Chica Chiapas, Mexico Toluca, Mexico Varadero, Cuba Women Candelas/Garcia (MEX) Kropp/Pavlik (USA) Santiago/Yantin (PUR) N.Sinal/Canet (CUB) Candelas/Garcia (MEX) Ballard/O.Sinal (CUB) Men Rodriguez/Haddock (PUR) Rodriguez/Guzman (PUR) Rodriguez/Irizarry (PUR) Piña/Gonzalez (CUB) Virgen/Ontiveros (MEX) Piña/Gonzalez (CUB)

