Canada announces roster for Women’s World Championship

RICHMOND, British Columbia, September 20, 2018 - Volleyball Canada coaching staff has released the names of the 14 women who will be representing the country at the FIVB World Championships September 29 to October 20 in Japan.


Canada is in Pool B with Turkey, Italy, Cuba, China and Bulgaria. The Canadian team qualified for the World Championships after taking gold at the NORCECA Senior Women’s Continental Championship in Langley, BC, in 2017. 


The world’s best 24 teams will be in Japan following a qualifying process, which started in 2016. The 24 countries competing in the 2018 FIVB Women’s World Championship are split according to the following: South America (two), Asia (five), Europe (eight), Africa (two) and NORCECA (seven). 


The teams have been divided into four pools of six teams playing in a round-robin system with the top four teams in each pool advancing to the second round. The tournament will take place across four cities, with Canada’s pool B in Sapporo for the first round.



#1 Jessie Niles

#2 Autumn Bailey

#4 Kyla Richey (C)

#5 Danielle Smith

#7 Brianna Beamish

#8 Alicia Ogoms

#9 Alexa Gray

#11 Anna Feore

#12 Jennifer Cross

#16 Shainah Joseph

#19 Marie-Alex Belanger

#22 Megan Cyr

#23 Emily Maglio

#25 Kiera Van Ryk



Head Coach: Marcello Abbondanza

Assistant Coach: Richard Schick

Assistant Coach: Vincenzo Mallia

Therapist: Giorgio Caiterzi

Statistician: Tommaso Barbato

Team Manager: Chrissy Benz