Lima welcomes the U20 Women’s Final Four Cup


LIMA, Peru, September 4, 2018 – The U20 Women’s Final Four Volleyball Cup will take place in Lima, Peru from September 6 to 9 at Manuel Bonilla Coliseum in the Miraflores section of the Peruvian capital.


Argentina, Cuba, Dominican Republic and host Peru are the countries represented in the invitational event.


The teams will compete for three days under a round-robin format, followed by the medal matches. Teams placed first and second will play for the gold medal and those in third and fourth places will compete for the bronze medal.


This is the second edition of the event with the inaugural competition held in 2014 won by Peru with setter Shiamara Almeida elected as the most valuable player.


The same teams competed in the inaugural event when Peru claimed the title following a 3-1 victory over Argentina (25-19, 25-21, 17-25, 25-17).


Maguilaura Frías was the best scorer for Peru with 17 points, followed by Angela Leyva and Coraima Gomez each with 13.


The Dominicans won the bronze with a 3-0 (25-15, 25-20, 25-16) over Cuba behind Massiel Matos’ 19 points.


Competition Schedule


September 6

17: 00   Dominican Republic v Argentina

19:00    Peru v Cuba


September 7

17: 00   Cuba v Dominican Republic

19:00    Peru v Argentina


September 8

17: 00   Argentina v Cuba

19:00    Peru v Dominican Republic


September 9

18:00    Third Place v Fourth Place

20:00    First Place v Second Place