Back News



Mexico, Canada and USA clinch semifinals in Men’s tournament 


LA PAZ, Mexico, April 21, 2018 -  Mexicans Josue Gaxiola and Jose Angel Cardenas won over Dominican Republic’s Víctor Castillo and Alesandre Jeambatis 2-0 (21-11, 21-17) to clinch a berth in the semifinals of the Norceca Beach Volleyball Circuit’s men tournament.


Along with Gaxiola and Cardenas, United States’ William Reid Priddy and Troy Field advanced to the four best teams phase after winning over Dillon Lesniak and Hylas Smith of U.S. Virgin islands also in straight sets by scores of 21-18 and 21-15. 


Another American couple, composed by Chase Frishman and James Avery Drost, advanced in the quarterfinals after beating Leonardo Blanco and Luis Garcia of Guatemala 2-0 (21-17, 21-12).  Priddy and Field of USA-B will match Frishman and Drost of USA-A for the ticket to the Gold Medal battle. 


In one of the last matches on day 2, Michael Platinga and Aaron Nusbaum of Canada-A faced their compatriots Jake MacNeil and Gabriel Burlacu of Canada-B.  The victory was for Plantinga and Nusbaum who won in two (21-19, 21-18) to face Gaxiola and Cardenas on Sunday.



Men’s Results Saturday


Pool Play: Pool A: Josue Gaxiola/Jose Cardenas (MEX-A) d Jake MacNeil/ Gabriel Burlacu (CAN-B) 2-0 (21-12, 21-16).   Pool B: Juan Jesus Espinoza/Luis Gerardo Bojorquez (MEX-C) d Nathan Dack/ Jesse Parham (CAY) 2-0 (21-6, 21-10); Michael Platinga/Aaron Nusbaum (CAN-A) d Víctor Castillo/ Alesandre Jeambatis (DOM) 2-0 (21-17, 21-15). Pool C: Chase Frishman/James Avery Drost (USA-A) d Tato/Pepe (ESA) 2-0 (21-10, 21-16); Dillon Lesniak/Hylas Smith (ISV) d Christopher Walters/Patricio Grant (JAM) 2-0 (21-10, 21-17). Pool D: William Reid Priddy/Troy Field (USA-B) d Leonardo Blanco/ Luis Garcia (GUA) 2-0 (21-11, 21-15); Jose Lopez/ Gerson Contreras (NCA) d Mario Arreola/ Kevin Arteaga (MEX-B) 2-0 (21-14, 21-14).


Loser’s Play-Off: Ranciato Jeffers/ Shawn Seabrookes (SKN) d Nathan Dack/ Jesse Parham (CAY) 2-0 (21-16, 21-14); Tato/Pepe (ESA) d Jose Lopez/ Gerson Contreras (NCA) 2-0 (21-18, 21-15); Christopher Walters/Patricio Grant (JAM) d Mario Arreola/ Kevin Arteaga (MEX-B) 2-1 (19-21, 21-13, 15-13).


QF1: Josue Gaxiola/Jose Cardenas (MEX-A) d Víctor Castillo/ Alesandre Jeambatis (DOM) 2-0 (21-11, 21-17) QF2: William Reid Priddy/Troy Field (USA-B) d Dillon Lesniak/Hylas Smith (ISV) 2-0 (21-18, 21-15)  QF3: Chase Frishman/James Avery Drost (USA-A) d Leonardo Blanco/ Luis Garcia (GUA) 2-0 (21-17, 21-12). QF4:  Michael Plantinga / Aaron Nusbaum (CAN-A)  d Jake MacNeil / Gabriel Burlacu (CAN-B) 2-0 (21-19, 21-18).