Santo Domingo to host 2016 Women’s Pan Am Cup



SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, May 26, 2016 – The XV Women’s Pan American Cup, a qualifier to next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix, will take place in Santo Domingo, the capital of the Dominican Republic, from July 2 to 10 with the participation of twelve countries.


The Organizing Committee for the annual competition, presided over by Major General Elvis Marcelino Felix Perez, took the oath administered by Ramon Garcia, president of the Dominican Republic Volleyball Federation in a ceremony held at the Officials Club of the Dominican Air Force on Wednesday.


The members of the organizing committee present at the ceremony included also Luis Mejia Oviedo, president of the Dominican Olympic Committee, Jorge Minaya, Minister of Youth, Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, President of NORCECA Confederation, and Nelson Ramirez, general secretary of the local volleyball federation.


Major General Felix Perez, Chief of the Dominican Air Force, welcomed the special guests to the ceremony as well as the media covering the event while announcing that several private corporations and public agencies will contribute to the success of the event.


He expressed his gratitude to the Dominican Federation for selecting him to lead the organization of the premier annual women’s volleyball event in the American hemisphere.


Marte Hoffiz announced that Dominican Republic will compete in Pool A alongside Puerto Rico, Canada, Colombia, Mexico and Venezuela while Pool B will consist of United States, Argentina, Cuba, Peru, Costa Rica and Trinidad & Tobago.


Pool play will take place from July 2 to 6 with a rest day on July 7 followed by quarterfinals, semifinals and finals on July 8, 9 and 10. Pool winners will advance directly to the semifinal phase and the second and third placed teams will compete in the quarterfinals. Teams will arrive on June 30 and will depart on July 11. Matches will be played at Ricardo Arias Gymnasium and at San Carlos Pavilion.


Santo Domingo previously hosted the fourth edition of the Women’s Pan American Cup in 2005.


In the history of the competition, United States and Cuba have won the title on four occasions while Brazil and Dominican Republic have won it three times. The Dominicans lead in podium positions with 13.