Back News




Twelve teams take part in women’s Pan Am Cup


SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, June 30, 2016 – The actions of the XV Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup trigger off on Saturday with twelve teams from NORCECA and South America battling for six spots to the different groups of next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix.


Defending champions United States and hosts and runner-ups Dominican Republic lead the package of teams as the competition gets underway on July 2 with six daily matches scheduled during the round-robin preliminary phase.


Pool A consists of Dominican Republic, Canada, Colombia, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Venezuela while Pool B is composed by United States, Argentina, Costa Rica, Cuba, Peru and Trinidad & Tobago.


Opening day features Canada meeting Colombia and Argentina playing Costa Rica at 14:00, followed by the matches of Cuba vs. Trinidad & Tobago and United States vs. Peru at 16:00. Puerto Rico takes on Mexico at 18:00 and Dominican Republic faces Venezuela at 20:00.


United States and Cuba have won the Pan American Cup on four occasions while Brazil and Dominican Republic have won the gold medal three times. Dominican Republic has finished on the podium in all but one of the fourteen previous editions.


This is the second time Santo Domingo is hosting the premier women’s volleyball annual competition for the two confederations in the American continent. The previous one was in 2005.


Teams arrived in Santo Domingo on Thursday and the preliminary inspections of the passports, uniforms and medical forms will be conducted on Friday by the members of the Control Committee, followed by the general technical meeting to be held at Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel.


Two daily matches will take place at San Carlos Club Pavilion and the four others will be played at Ricardo Arias Gymnasium, a 6,000 seat facility located at the Juan Pablo Duarte Olympic Center in Santo Domingo.


The top ranked teams from each pool at the conclusion of the preliminary phase will get passes to the semifinal phase while the teams ranked second and third will meet in crossed matches in the quarterfinals to be held on July 8, after a rest-day. Semifinals and Finals, as well as qualification matches will take place on July 9-10.


Year-by-Year Results


Year    Gold     Silver   Bronze

2002     CUB      DOM     CAN

2003     USA      DOM     CUB

2004     CUB      USA      DOM

2005     CUB      DOM     BRA

2006     BRA      CUB      DOM

2007     CUB      BRA      DOM

2008     DOM     BRA      ARG

2009     BRA      DOM     PUR

2010     DOM     PER       USA

2011     BRA      DOM     USA

2012     USA      BRA      CUB

2013     USA      DOM     ARG

2014     DOM     USA      PUR

2015     USA      DOM     ARG


Medal Table


Team   Gold     Silver   Bronze   Total

USA        4          2          2            8

CUB        4          1          2            7

DOM       3          7          3          13

BRA        3          1          3            7

PER         0          1          0            1

ARG        0          0          3            3

PUR        0          0          2            2

CAN        0          0          1            1