Back News




U18 Girls’ Pan Am Cup offers three tickets to Worlds in Argentina


HAVANA, Cuba, March 26, 2017 – The fourth edition of the U18 Girls’ Pan American Cup will be played in Havana, Cuba from March 28 to April 3 with 10 teams from Norceca and South America vying for three spots available to the age-group FIVB World Championship to be held in Argentina from August 18 to 27.

The top two ranked teams from Norceca and the top placed team from South America will make the journey to Argentina.

Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Uruguay will participate representing South America while Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Mexico and Puerto Rico will be the Norceca teams in the competition.

Among those teams, Argentina as hosts organizer and the Dominican Republic as last year’s Norceca champions are already qualified to the world championship and will be utilizing the tournament as their sides complete their preparation for the 20-team event.


Norceca’s runner-ups United States and the South American teams from Brazil and Peru all have also secured berths in the world championship. Asian teams qualified are Japan, China, South Korea and Thailand while Egypt will be the African representative.


Argentina is the defending champions at the U18 Girls’ Pan American Cup having won the title two years ago by prevailing over the Dominican Republic in a five-set battle for the gold medal also in Havana. A team from Argentina won the first edition in Tijuana in 2011 while Brazil triumphed in 2013 in Guatemala.


Argentina, Chile and Puerto Rico will play in Pool A while Pool B consists of Colombia, Costa Rica and Cuba. The 4-team Pool C will be composed by Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Mexico and Uruguay.


Four daily matches will be played at Palacio de los Deportes of Ciudad Deportiva in Havana starting at 14:00 local time.

Preliminary Round Schedule

March 28

14:00 Puerto Rico v Chile

16:00 Dominican Republic v Uruguay

18:00 Mexico v Guatemala

20:00 Cuba v Costa Rica


March 29

14:00 Uruguay v Mexico

16:00 Guatemala v Dominican Republic

18:00 Chile v Argentina

20:00 Cuba v Colombia


March 30

14:00 Costa Rica v Colombia

16:00 Uruguay v Guatemala

18:00 Argentina v Puerto Rico

20:00 Dominican Republic v Mexico


Past Medal Winners


Year    Gold     Silver   Bronze

2011     ARG      MEX      DOM

2013     BRA      PUR      DOM

2015     ARG      DOM     CUB