Action of NORCECA Circuit returns to North Bay, Canada



NORTH BAY, Canada, August 6, 2015 – The NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit visits North Bay in Ontario, Canada for the second year in a row for a double-gender tournament, the third of the 2015.


Players from fourteen countries representing Antigua, Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos, United States, U.S.Virgin Islands will go for the medals and prize money from July 7 to 9.


Hosts Canada will be featuring four pairs in both genders while United States will be represented by two teams in each segment. Mexico will have one women’s and two men’s teams. Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago and U.S. Virgin Islands are fielding one team per gender.


Antigua, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Jamaica will play in the women’s tournament while Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, St Kitts & Nevis and Turks & Caicos will compete in the men’s event.


Last year, the home team of Josh Binstock and Sam Schachter defeated Puerto Rico’s Roberto Rodríguez and Eric Haddock for the men’s title while Tealle Hunkus and Kimberly McGiven-Dicello of United States beat Canada’s Melissa Humana and Taylor Pischke for the women’s gold medal.


In the first two stops of 2015, the men’s teams of Cuba won both tournaments with Nivaldo Diaz and Sergio Gonzalez in Cayman Islands and Karel Piña and Daisel Quesada in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.


United States’ Jenny Kropp and Whitney Pavlik won in Cayman Islands while compatriots Traci Weamer and Kendra Vanzwieten won in Punta Cana.


Women’s Teams

Antigua (Rosemarie Simon/Nyota Peters), Canada-A (Julie Gordon/Brandie Wilkerson), Canada-B (Caleigh Whitaker/Kacie MacTavish), Canada-C (Victoria Altomare/Kelsey Veltman), Canada-D (Sophie Bukovec/Claudia Seguin), Costa Rica (Karen Cope/Natalia Alfaro), El Salvador (Maria Vargas/Kathya Vasquez), Guatemala (Natalia Giron/Estefanie Bethancourt), Honduras (Gina Flores/Martha Euceda), Jamaica (Kai Wright/Alicia Malcolm-Anderson), Mexico (Bibiana Candelas/Ana Rios), Trinidad & Tobago (Malika Davidson/Ayana Dyette), United States-A (Irene Hester/Caitlin Ledoux), United States-B (Sara Hughes/Kelly Claes), U.S. Virgin Islands (Mannika Charles/Amber Bennett).


Men’s Teams

Canada-A (Daniel Dearing/Garrett May), Canada-B (Sam Pedlow/Grant O’Gorman), Canada-C (Sam Wheelan/Mike Platinga), Canada-D (Simon Fecteau-Boutin/James Battison), Guatemala (Julio Recinos/Luis Garcia), Mexico-A (Juan Virgen/Lombardo Ontiveros), Mexico-B (Jose Luis Rubio/Josue Gaxiola), Nicaragua (Gerson Contreras/Gerald Umaña), Puerto Rico (Daniel Rivera/Sergio Figueroa), St. Kitts & Nevis (Kemoroy Percival/St Clair Hodge), Trinidad & Tobago (Fabien Whitfield/Daneil Williams), Turks & Caicos (John Cuero/Edner Cox), United States-A (Mark Burik/Curt Toppel), United States-B (Miles Evans/Ian Satterfield), U.S. Virgin Islands (Diogo Sousa/Gustavo Cintron).