Barbados goes after CAZOVA U-21 Men Beaver Trick


MARTINIQUE, December 6, 2019 - Barbados will be looking to add to their record five titles won and the last three on the trot when the 2019 Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Junior Men (Under-21) Championship serves off at the La Ville de Riviere-Salee Palais Des Sports from Sunday, December 8 until Friday, December 13.


In 2017 when the competition was last held in Suriname, Barbados defeated Haiti for the crown to complete the hattrick after wins in 2013 in Guadeloupe and 2015 on home soil over Curacao and T&T respectively, after they first won the competition back in 1997 on home soil, the inaugural year, and 2005 beating host Aruba for the gold medal.


This time around, Barbados will do battle with host Martinique, Guadeloupe, Curacao, T&T and US Virgin Islands in a six-team competition from which the tournament winners will advance to the NORCECA Continental Championship qualifiers for next FIVB age-group World Championships.


When competition begins on Sunday, the Barbadian will first compete in Group C with 2011/2012 winners Curacao and Guadeloupe at the end of which the top team advances to the semifinal while the other two compete in the cross-over quarterfinals while in Group D, host Martinique who won in 1999 in Jamaica and ended with the bronze medal last time out faces T&T and US Virgin Islands two teams which have never lifted the title.     


Tournament groups and fixtures:



Sunday, December 8: Barbados vs Curacao, 1pm

Monday, December 9: Barbados vs Guadeloupe, 4pm

Tuesday, December 10: Curacao vs Guadeloupe, 2pm


Group D:

Sunday, December 8; Martinique vs Trinidad and Tobago, 8pm

Monday, December 9; US Virgin Islands vs Trinidad and Tobago, 2pm

Tuesday, December 10; US Virgin Islands vs Martinique,6pm


Wednesday, December 11: Quarterfinals: 2A vs 3B; 2B vs 3A

Thursday, December 12: Semifinals


Friday, December 13: Fifth Place: Quarterfinal Loser 1 vs Quarterfinal Loser 2

Bronze Medal: Semifinal Loser 1 vs Semifinal Loser 2

Gold Medal: Semifinal Winner 1 vs Semifinal Winner 2