Bonaire to debut as host of NORCECA Beach Tournament


BONAIRE, September 21, 2019 – The island of Bonaire will host a NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tournament for the first time in the history of the competition when the seventh stage of the circuit takes place from September 25 to 29.


Eleven female teams and thirteen male teams have been registered to dispute the competition that serves off on Thursday morning September 26. The semifinals and medal matches will be played on Saturday September 28


United States have registered two teams per gender, while Aruba, Curacao, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua are going to field one team per gender. Bonaire will be represented in the men’s tournament with two teams and Canada will have one men’s team and two women’s teams.


In the women’s division Guatemala will have one team while St. Kitts & Nevis and U.S. Virgin Islands will be represented only in the men’s segment.


Teams will arrive on September 25 for practices, preliminary inspections and general technical meeting and will depart on September 29.


Winners in 2019


Aguascalientes, Mexico

CUB Maylen Deliz/Leila Martinez (W)

USA Trevor Crabb/Tri Bourne (M)


Cayman Islands

CUB Maylen Deliz/Leila Martinez (W)

MEX Juan Virgen/Lombardo Ontiveros (M)



CUB Maylen Deliz/Leila Martinez (W)

CUB Sergio González/Luis Reyes (M)


Varadero, Cuba

CUB Maylen Deliz/Leila Martinez (W)

CUB Sergio González/Luis Reyes (M)


La Paz, Mexico

CAN Devon May/Darby Dunn (W)

MEX Miguel Angel Sarabia/Raymond Stephens (M)


Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

USA Emily Hartong/Geena Urango (W)

NCA Rubén Mora/Denis López (M)


Women’s Teams

Aruba (Jackie Toussaint/Mali Rafini), Canada-1 (Jae-Lyn Visscher/Alysa Wolf), Canada-2 (Victoria Cowley/Beanna Golding), Curacao (Angjeny Tolentino/Leandra Savonije), El Salvador (Kathya Vásquez/María Fernanda Vargas), Guatemala (Estefanie Bethancourt/Natalia Girón), Mexico (Zaira Orellana/Martha Revuelta), Nicaragua (Swan Mendoza/Lolette Rodríguez), Trinidad & Tobago (Rheeza Grant/Malika Davidson), United States-1 (Aurora Davis/Alexandra Wheeler), United States-2 (Melissa Fuchs/Lindsey Fuller).


Men’s Teams

Aruba (Angela Fransua/Eddy Toro Maldonado), Bonaire-1 (Maurison Martines/Bjorn Saragoza), Bonaire-2 (Lacey Pauletta/Terrence Frans), Canada (Simon Fecteau-Boutin/Ivan Reka), Curacao (Jutrcham Meulens/Ernaldo Mota), El Salvador (Carlos Escobar/David Vargas), Mexico (Josué Gaxiola/José Luis Rubio), Nicaragua (Rubén Mora/Dany López), St Kitts & Nevis (St Clair Hodge/Sean Seabrooks), Trinidad & Tobago (Marlon Phillip/Daneil Williams), United States-1 (Kyle Friend/Travis Mewhirter), United States-2 (Kristopher Johnson/Christopher Austin), U.S. Virgin Islands (Brian Kwasny/Gabriel Ospina).