CAZOVA will have new U-20 champion


MARTINIQUE, December 7, 2019 - A new champion will be crowned when the 2019 Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association Junior Women (Under-20) Championship takes place at the La Ville de Riviere Salee Palais Des Sports from Sunday December 8 until Friday December 13.


This is because last event’s first-time winners Haiti will not be defending their title they won by defeating Barbados in their own back-yard ford the title.


 This will leave the door open for record six-time champions, Trinidad and Tobago, Guadeloupe and host Martinique to make a charge towards adding to their respective titles won.


The T&T young women previous were winners in 1997, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2011/2012.

However, on their last visit to Martinique in 2013, they ended in the runner-up spot to the host to add to a similar silver medal placing in 2009, be­hind then host Guade­loupe.


For the six-team preliminary round, Barbados will face bitter rivals Trinidad and Tobago and Guadeloupe in Group B while Martinique comes up against Curacao and US Virgin Islands in Group A.


At the end of the group round-robin stage the top team will qualify straight to the semifinals while the second and third placed teams will meet in cross-over quarterfinals to determine the two other semifinalist.


At the end of the tournament from the winners will advance to the NORCECA Continental Championship qualifiers for next FIVB age-group World Championships.


Tournament groups and fixtures:


Group A:

Sunday, December 8: Martinique vs Curacao, 6pm

Monday, December 9: Martinique vs US Virgin Islands, 8pm

Tuesday, December 10: Curacao vs US Virgin Islands 4pm


Group B:

Sunday, December 8: Barbados vs Trinidad and Tobago, 3pm

Monday, December 9: Guadeloupe vs Trinidad and Tobago, 2pm

Tuesday, December 10; Barbados vs Guadeloupe, 6pm


Wednesday, December 11: Quarterfinals: 2A vs 3B; 2B vs 3A

Thursday, December 12: Fifth Place: Quarterfinal Loser 1 vs Quarterfinal Loser 2 and Semifinals

Friday, December 13: Third: Semifinal Loser 1 vs Semifinal Loser 2

Final: Semifinal Winner 1 vs Semifinal Winner 2