Back News




Garcia re-elected president of Dominican Federation


SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, February 25, 2017 – Ramon García has been re-elected as president of the Dominican Republic Volleyball Federation for a new four-year term.


It will be the sixth consecutive period of Garcia in the presidency of the volleyball and beach volleyball national governing body.


Garcia and the members of th e executive committee received the support of 30 of 32 provincial associations. There was one absence and one non-valid vote.


Nelly Manuel Doñe member of the executive committee of the Dominican Olympic Committee and Jose Luis Ramirez, William Ozuna and Edwin Rodriguez, presidents of the Karate, Weightlifting and Gymnastics Federations, respectively, supervised the election process.


The new authorities took the oath in the presence of Luis Mejia Oviedo, president of the Olympic Committee.


Cristobal Marte Hoffiz and Victor Gil, were elected first and second executive vice presidents, and Nelson Ramirez and Jose Francisco Fernández, general secretary and treasurer, respectively.


The regional vice presidents are Angel Rivas, Guarionez Martinez, Rudy Valdez and Jose Aybar. Other officials are Franklin Segura, co-treasurer, German Alvarez, organizational secretary, Bernardo Peña, public relations, Cosiris Rodriguez, protocol, and Amos Anglada, member.