Pool Play battle to main bracket at Cayman Islands on Friday


SEVEN MILES BEACH, Grand Cayman, March 24, 2011 – A Central American duel between Marcela Avalos and Diana Romero of El Salvador and Nicaragua’s Lollette Rodriguez and Valeska Hernandez will open the women’s action at the Cayman Islands Beach Volleyball Tournament the first leg of 2011 NORCECA Circuit on Friday morning.


In the men’s division the opening contest features Esteban Escobar and Alexander Villegas of Costa Rica pitted against Jon Mesko and Paul Baxter of United States-2.


Twenty women’s and nineteen men’s teams will be divided in five pools with the top three pairs of each pool advancing to a single elimination main bracket.


The composition of the pools was decided by the 2010 NORCECA Rankings with teams without ranking and countries’ second teams distributed during a drawing of lots ceremony held on Thursday morning during the Technical Meeting, under the supervision of Arnaldo Sanchez, the competition’s director.


Noel Williams, President of Cayman Islands Volleyball Federation, welcomed the players and NORCECA’s delegate Hall of Famer Sinjin Smith pronounced encouraging words to all participants on behalf of Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, President of NORCECA. Randy Stocklos, another Hall of Famer, who is here as special guest, also took part in the ceremony.


The pools composition is as follows:



Pool A: Puerto Rico-1, Jamaica, Cayman Islands and Mexico-2. Pool B: United States-1, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Canada-2. Pool C: Canada-1, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis and United States-2. Pool D: Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Honduras and U.S. Virgin Islands. Pool E: Guatemala, Mexico-1, Barbados and Puerto Rico-2.



Pool A: Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago and Cayman Islands-1. Pool B: United States-1, El Salvador, Nicaragua and Canada-2. Pool C: Puerto Rico-1, Jamaica, Honduras and Barbados. Pool D: Canada-1, Dominican Republic, St. Kitts and Nevis and Cayman Islands-2. Pool E: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Puerto Rico-2 and United States-2.