Third U20 Pan Am Cup to start on Sunday in Santo Domingo



SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, April 14, 2015 – The third edition of the NORCECA Women’s U20 Pan American Cup gets underway next Sunday April 19 at Ricardo Arias Volleyball Pavillion of Santo Domingo with teams from six countries taking part in the round-robin competition.


Defending champions Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica and Nicaragua join hosts Dominican Republic in the six-day event.


Peru won the first edition of the event held at home in 2011 while Mexico triumphed in 2013 when the competition was held in Havana, Cuba. In both cases the Dominican Republic had to settle for the silver medal.


The opening day of the intercontinental tournament features the matches of Chile meeting Costa Rica, Argentina playing Mexico and Nicaragua challenging the Dominican Republic.


At the end of the round-robin, to be played in consecutive days, teams placed first and second will clash for the gold medal while the third and place teams are to meet for the bronze.


Teams will arrive in Santo Domingo on Friday with the preliminary enquiry and the general technical meeting scheduled on Saturday. The members of the control committee will arrive on Thursday for the inspection visits to the competition and training venues.


Competition schedule:

April 19

15:00 Chile v Costa Rica

17:00 Argentina v Mexico

19:00 Dominican Republic v Nicaragua


April 20

15:00 Nicaragua v Argentina

17:00 Mexico v Chile

19:00 Dominican Republic v Costa Rica


April 21

15:00 Mexico v Nicaragua

17:00 Argentina v Costa Rica

19:00 Dominican Republic v Chile


April 22

15:00 Costa Rica v Mexico

17:00 Chile v Nicaragua

19:00 Dominican Republic v Argentina


April 23

15:00 Nicaragua v Costa Rica

17:00 Argentina v Chile

19:00 Dominican Republic v Mexico


April 24

15:00 Fifth v Sixth

17:00 Third v Fourth

19:00 First v Second


Previous Podiums:

2011     Peru           Dominican Republic      Cuba

2013     Mexico        Dominican Republic      Colombia