Triple T La Cura Sport gets second victory


PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, December 20, 2019 - Former national indoor player, Rheeza Grant led all scorers as Triple T La Cura Sport made it two wins from as many matches in the 2019 The Office of the Prime Minister Premier Volleyball League sanctioned by the T&T Volleyball Federation served off at the Central Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Saith Park, Chaguanas on Wednesday night.


Grant tallied 14 points, highlighted by 13 spikes and European-based Taija Thomas 10 in La Cura's 25-20, 25-15, 25-21 triumph over Toco Youths Volleyball Academy.


USA-based Cameron Edwards also added eight points and Shanice De Four, six for La Cura Sport who outscored their opponents on spikes 36-21 and was aided by 31 opponents errors compared to their 26, while both teams had five service aces each.


Toco Youths who held the edge on blocks 4-3 got 12 points from anothere x-national indoor player Abby Blackman, while La Teisha Joseph added five, and then trio of Delicia Pierre, Aphhia Glasgow, and Australia-based national netballer, Samantha Wallace, four each.


In their tournament opener on Tuesday, La Cura Sport boosted by the inlcusion of recent Caribbean Junior Championship "Best Setter" awardee Dashonta Addison of Barbados overcame former powerhouse Glamorgan 25-15, 23-25, 25-9, 25-13 in one hour, 36 minutes.


Also in winners' row in the women's competition on Wednesday were Big South East Port-of-Spain (SEPoS), 25-12, 26-24, 25-16, 25-18 over Glamorgan behind recent Caribbean Junior Championship "Most Valuable Player", Barbadian Tenielle Chapman-Goodluck's 19 points, and ten from Shushanna Marshall with ten.


The duo of Desiree Donald and Rayquelle Dickson chipped in with seven points each for SEPoS who benefited from 52 unforced errors, while only making 34 and also held the advantages on service aces, 13-7, and blocks 6-2.


Kaylon Cruickshank topscored for Glamorgan with 13, national Under-20 player Shanice Cottoy got ten and Maya Roberts, six for the losers who narrowly outscored SEPoS on spikes, 29-28.


In the men's seven-team tournament, the trio of Ryan Stewart (16 points), Nicholas Prescott (16) and Adriel Roberts (ten) fired Technocrats to a first win in two outings, 25-0, 23-25, 25-14, 25-22 against Challengers.


Tecchnocrats' victory was based around their spiking power, 43-28 in their favour while they also tallied a 9-1 advantage in aces.


Challengers which is mostly made up of Venezuelan nationals had a team-best 14 points from Enino Aguilera, with Martin Centeno adding seven, Luis Guerra six, and David Malpica, five.


It was perfect day for SEPoS as their men's team swept past recent Super League winners' Toco Youths Volleyball Academy 25-17, 25-21, 25-23 inspired by Martinique's Yoaan Breleur ten points, 37 errors of their rivals, and an 8-3 edge on aces.


Club captain, Akim Bushe added eight points, Rashaun Wright seven, and Darrel David six for SEPoS to cancel out Daneil Williams and Simom Blake's ten point showing each for Toco Youths.


On Tuesday, La Cura Sport men battled past Technocrats 25-16, 25-23, 20-25, 22-25, 15-10 in two hours, two minutes.


USA-based Daynte Stewart tallied a match-high 22 points, Marlon Phillip added 19 and Enrique Harry 13 for the winners while Ryan Stewart had a team-high 20 for Technocrats, and Roberts, 12.


And in the other men's match, Blue Waters Challengers also needed five sets to earn a win over Zenith 25-15, 25-20, 19-25, 17-25, 15-10.

For Challengers, Martin Centeno led four players in double-figure scoring with 20 points, while Jevaughn Saunders and Kerryne Joachim added 13 each, and David Malpica, 11 while Joel Theodore was the main scorer for Zenith with 23.


At the end of the women's four team round-robin semis the top team will face the fourth placed team in one semifinal while second and third meet in the other.


However, the seven teams in the men's competition have been divided into a group of four and one of three and at the end of their round-robin series, the top two teams in each group will advance to the cross-over semifinals.