Women’s Pan Am Cup visits South America for the first time


LIMA, Peru, June 6, 2013 – The Women’s Pan American Cup will be contested on South American soil for the first time as the intercontinental event visits three cities of Peru from June 10 to 16 with the participation of teams from 12 countries.


The tournament offers six tickets –four to NORCECA and two to South America- to next year’s FIVB World Grand Prix, the premier annual women’s event.


Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and hosts Peru are the representatives of South America while Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and United States are the participants from NORCECA Confederation.


For the first time, teams will be divided in three pools of four teams programmed to compete first in Callao, Huacho and Iquitos for the preliminary phase. The event then continues in Callao and Lima at Miguel Grau and Eduardo Dibos Coliseums respectively.


Pool A in Callao consists of Argentina, Puerto Rico, Trinidad & Tobago and United States while Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and Peru will be playing in Pool B in Iquitos. The teams of Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic and Mexico will contest in Huacho.


The two pool winners with best point-ratio will receive byes to the semifinals and the pool winner with lowest point-ratio will play in the quarterfinals with the three second place teams.


Cuba, with four gold medals, leads the all-time standings followed by Brazil with three and Dominican Republic and United States each with two titles.


United States is the defending champions after winning the eleventh edition in Ciudad Juarez by defeating Brazil in a memorable come-from-behind victory in five sets 28-30, 18-25, 25-22, 25-21, 15-11 victory. The bronze medal went to Cuba following a five-set win 25-21, 28-26, 23-25, 18-25, 15-11 over Dominican Republic.


The members of the Control Committee, led by the Pan American Volleyball Union President, Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, are scheduled to arrive in Lima on Friday with the teams arriving on Saturday.


The schedule of the preliminary phase of the competition is as follows:


Pool A

June 10

18:00    Argentina v Puerto Rico

20:00    United States v Trinidad & Tobago

June 11

18:00    Argentina v Trinidad & Tobago

20:00    United States v Puerto Rico

June 12

18:00    Puerto Rico v Trinidad & Tobago

20:00    United States v Argentina


Pool B

June 10

18:00    Cuba v Canada

20:00    Perú v Costa Rica

June 11

18:00    Cuba v Costa Rica

20:00    Perú v Canada

June 12                                                                                       

18:00    Canada v Costa Rica

20:00    Peru v Cuba


Pool C

June 10

18:00    Colombia v México

20:00    Brazil v Dominican Republic

June 11                                                                                       

18:00    Dominican Republic v Colombia

20:00    Brazil v México

June 12

18:00    Dominican Repulic v México

20:00    Brazil v Colombia


All-Time resuls:


Year    Gold    Silver  Bronze

2002     CUB      DOM     CAN

2003     USA      DOM     CUB

2004     CUB      USA      DOM

2005     CUB      DOM     BRA

2006     BRA      CUB      DOM

2007     CUB      BRA      DOM

2008     DOM     BRA      ARG

2009     BRA      DOM     PUR

2010     DOM     PER      USA

2011     BRA      DOM     USA

2012     USA      BRA      CUB