Dominican Republic, United States, Mexico and Puerto Rico advance to the women’s semifinals in Juan Dolio

JUAN DOLIO, Dominican Republic, May 9, 2024.- The women’s pairs from the Dominican Republic, the United States, Mexico and Puerto Rico won the right to compete in the Semifinals of the third stage of the NORCECA Continental Beach Volleyball Tour 2024 that is taking place at the Juan Dolio Beach, Dominican Republic.

Dominicans Julibeth Payano and Crismil Paniagua had to battle hard in their Quarterfinal match to overcome the Costa Ricans Kianny Quesada and Laura Molina 2-1 (19-21, 21-19, 19-17) to achieve their place in the semifinal.

The American pair of Haley Hardward/Kylie De Berg also advanced after defeating Socorro López/Lolette Rodríguez (NCA) 2-0 (21-9, 21-9).

The Mexican duo of Susana Torres/Atenas Gutiérrez moved forward after defeating the Guatemalan team of Danna Aguilar/Paola Alvarado 2-0 (21-7, 21-9), as well as Allanis Navas/María González from Puerto Rico who defeated the Canadian duo of Lea Monkhouse/María-Alex Belanger 2-0 (21-14, 21-17).

In the semifinals, Navas/González (PUR), who have won silver in the previous two stages, will face Americans Hardward/De Berg, who won gold in Güibia and bronze in Varadero, while Payano/Paniagua (DOM) will take on the Mexican team of Torres/Gutierrez.

Position matches will be held on Friday morning as well as the semifinals, and the medal matches will be in the afternoon.

The other results of the day were:

Julibeth Payano/Crismil Paniagua (DOM) d Socorro López/Lolette Rodríguez (NCA) 2-1 (4-21, 21-10, 15-9); Kianny Quesada/Laura Molina (CRC) d Nallelyn Taveras/Darlenys Olivo (DOM) 2-0 (21-18, 25-23); Haley Hardward/Kylie De Berg (USA) d Cristina Almeida-Anz/Taylor Buckner (ISV) 2-0 (21-11, 21-8); Allanis Navas/María González (PUR) d Danna Aguilar/Paola Alvarado (GUA) 2-0 (21-7, 21-14); Shanadia Sylvester/Nikita Campbell (VIN) d Ketura Heymans/Simone Elizee (SUR) 2-1 (21-17,17-21, 15-11) y Susana Torres/Atenas Gutierrez (MEX) d Heather Thompson/Maryn McCoombs (CAY) (21-10, 21-7); Cristina Almeida-Anz/Taylor Buckner (ISV) d Ketura Heymans/Simone Elizee (SUR) 2-0 (21-10, 21-6) y Nallelyn Taveras/Darlenys Olivo (DOM) d Shanadia Sylvester/Nikita Campbell (VIN) 2-0 (21-12, 21-6).