Extensive day kicks off men’s action at the second phase of the Norceca Circuit in Varadero

VARADERO, Cuba, May 3, 2024.- The second phase of the 2024 Norceca Beach Volleyball Tour began in this international resort with an extensive program that includes 15 men matches to start the group elimination round.

Among the 18 pairs from 13 countries, the local duo of Jorge Luis Alayo and Noslen Díaz (CUB-1) stands out, following their performances at the Beach Pro Tour in Brazil, Mexico, and China, where they collected two silver medals at the Challenge level and a bronze in Elite 16, keeping their hopes alive for Olympic qualification to Paris through the FIVB ranking.

Also important is the presence of Americans Evan Cory-Robert Harrison (USA-1), the runners-up of the Norceca circuit opener in early April at Güibia Beach on the Malecón in Santo Domingo.

The pairs from Canada cannot be underestimated because of the traditional quality of their players, and it wouldn’t be surprising if they manage to reach the podium. A team from this country took gold in the Dominican capital, although they are not participating in this event, which once again takes place on courts adjacent to the Barceló Arenas Blancas Hotel.

During the preliminary meetings on Thursday night, Mireya Luis, Cuban three-time Olympic champion and control committee Norceca supervisor, welcomed each of the teams. She introduced the competition director, Cayacoa Moquete, and Miguel Ramírez, referee coach, as well as Omelio Castillo, from the Cuban Volleyball Federation.

Group A: Jorge Luis Alayo-Noslen Díaz (CUB-1), Christopher Guardado-Yoel Guardado (ESA), José Izaguirre-Luis García (GUA), Garrett Bucklin-Robert Cronshaw (ISV-1), and Joshua Dwarkasing-David Pinas (SUR-1).

Group B: Arran Chambers-Robert Kemp (CAN-1), Rubén Mora-Denis López (NCA), Gino Naarden-Keven Sporkslede (SUR-2), James Drost-Cody Caldwell (USA-2), and Damián Gómez-Eblis Veranes (CUB-2).

Group C: Rouzbeh Rahnavard-Tynan Gannett (CAN-2), Daniel Dyner-Jhostin Varela (CRC), Clair Hodge-Clerique Ward (SKN), and Evan Cory-Robert Harrison (USA-1).

Group D: Hayerling De Jesús-Oscar Martínez (DOM), Tyler Penberthy-Bryce Mayer (ISV-2), Arnaldo Torres-William Rivera (PUR), and Daneil Williams-Fabien Whitfield (TTO).