Two men’s teams of Cuba with successful starts

VARADERO, Cuba, May 6, 2022The two male teams of Cuba advanced to the quarterfinals of the Varadero Beach Volleyball Tournament, the second stop of the the NORCECA Circuit, as winners of their respective pools on Friday.


Noslen Diaz and Jorge Luis Alayo, winners of the first stage in Aguascalientes, Mexico, claimed first place in Pool A with victories over St Kitts  Nevis’ Shawn Seabrookes and Nage Hendrickson 2-0 (21-7, 21-6) in just 25 minutes and Puerto Rico’s Josué Rivera and Cristian Encarnación 2-0 (21-13, 21-13).


Miguel Ayon and Yosvani Carrasco, the second Cuban pair, began their campaign in Pool C with a 2-0 (21-13, 21-18) win against Marc Lomeli and Daniel Samuelson of U.S. Virgin Islands and continued with a 2-0 (22-20, 21-15) triumph over Canada’s Liam Kopp and Ivan Reka.


Rivera/Encarnación won 2-0 (21-18, 23-21) over El Salvador’s David and Gabriel Vargas who recovered to beat Seabrookes/Hendrickson 2-0 (21-16, 21-15).


Kopp/Reka kicked off the actions with a close win 2-1(16-21, 21-19, 15-13) over compatriots Simon Fecteau-Boutin and Hugo Rosso-Bonneau who came back to beat Lomeli/Samuelson 2-0 (21-16, 21-16).


The American pair of Travis Mewhirter and Timothy Brewster won Pool B with victories against Jamaica’s Ryck Webb and Noley Ferguson 2-0 (21-17, 21-15) and Mexico’s Isaias Aguirre and Gabriel Cruz 2-0 (21-13, 21-18).


Aguirre and Cruz began their day with a grueling 2-1 (15-21, 21-19, 15-13) victory against Americans Ryan Smith and Michael Boag that lasted 56 minutes. Then Smith/Boag beat Webb/Ferguson 2-0 (21-11, 21-17).


Mexicans Ricardo Galindo and García won Pool D following successful outings against Oscar Martinez and Hayerling de Jesus of Dominican Republic 2-1 (14-21, 21-15, 15-12) and Andy Blanco and Luis García of Guatemala 2-0 (21-15, 21-18).


Belize’s Ernest Broaster and Bryton Codd lost to Blanco/Garcia 2-0 (21-14, 22-24, 15-7) and Martinez/De Jesus 2-0 (21-11, 21-10).